So what makes a good wine?

If there is one thing I know for sure about wine it is that if I like it my Mom won’t.  We have completely different taste buds I guess.

That is the great thing about trying out wine with friends.  You may not have even noticed something that your friend picks out right away.

It took a few trips to the liquor store to pester the staff and a few evening of reading the backs of bottles before I figured out that if a wine has ‘light apricot tones with a crisp citrus finish’ that it has no apricot in it.  I started out thinking of wine like perfume.  They add a little of this and a little of that and come up with something great.  Not so!  It’s all in the variety of grape, where it is grown, how it is grown and how it is ‘finished’.

You can spend a long time reading the labels in the wine aisle.  And they will tell you a lot about what you are about to purchase.  I am all for buying funky wine.  I love to buy Cat’s Pee on a Gooseberry Bush which is a great name for a Sauvignon Blanc by Noble Estates (www.nobleestates.com) for friends.

My all time favorite for myself is a local wine from Recline Ridge in Tappen (www.recline-ridge.bc.ca).  Their Gamay Noir is a great red for a beginner like me.  It has taken me about 8 months of trying out different reds to gain an appreciation for one.  I actually bought it for a gift but never got around to wrapping it up.  The friends I shared it with all loved it but sadly they don’t make it anymore. They just don’t have the grapes…..  If you have heard of a particular wine or winery and can’t seem to find it don’t be afraid to ask your local liquor store if they can get it.  And if that fails let the winery know you are looking.  They’ll let you know where to find it locally if you can.

Leave a Reply

Sips Stats

  • 18,094 sips to date

Old wine

