the importance of decanting and eating crow

353938_Cats-Pee-Gooseberry-BushI have an apology to make….

I was pretty harsh earlier this week and gave this wine a huge crapolla bad review.

In my defense it really did taste like crapolla when we tried it Saturday night. And we all thought it was crap. But then I had the leftovers a few nights ago. And it wasn’t bad.

Quite often when I am having our homemade wine I’ll leave it open on the counter or in the fridge – uncorked. For a day. It always tastes better to me after a bit of time relaxing like that. Like chili on the second day!

Cat’s Pee on a Gooseberry Bush was the same. Way more drinkable after a rest! It still had a less than appealing smell and wasn’t my favorite wine of all time… and I still wouldn’t buy it again. But we finished it! And enjoyed it! Maybe it was colder? Or warmer? Or it went better without any snacks? Who knows.

So here is an apology to the Cat Pee and a thank you to my decanter.

You make a good pair!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jocellyn
    Mar 11, 2013 @ 20:13:09

    I love how wine is finicky like that (if it gets better, that is!) I go with my daily red when I don’t wan to try anything new and just want to veg out on the couch with B&J (a fabulous life I lead…) Day one it’s always too bitter. Day two the flavors really come out.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Sips Stats

  • 19,125 sips to date

Old wine

