finca los primos vs. domaine bousquet smackdown

The lovey dovey feeling of having a bottle of wine left for me by my sweetie has worn off and I am ready to tell you how it tastes! But I’ll say again that he is such a sweetheart first!

My go-to malbec is from Argentina. I love the Finca Los Primos Malbec that you can get at any liquor store. It is fruity, bold (for me) and not too dry. I like it with dinner and by itself. It’s cheap (under $15).

This malbec was a bit different. Dryer, but not much, and not so fruit faced. It was peppery. I would say that would be my sum-it-up word. Peppery. It was around $15 as well but I would be more inclined to have this wine with dinner. It was less of a sipper for me. It was 14% alcohol content as well and I could definitely feel it after one glass! The back of the bottle says they combine French winemaking with the South American Climate.

It was great and I would buy it again. But it isn’t going to replace my go-to malbec… ever!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. the winegetter
    Apr 20, 2013 @ 21:22:24

    I remember trying the Domaine Bousquet a while back and I definitely was not fond of it. Just didn’t seem to come together for me…:(

    Like

    Reply

  2. the winegetter
    Apr 21, 2013 @ 19:16:39

    I’ve never had the Finca Los Primos…I tend to prefer European Malbecs over the South Americans. But my wife loves the South Americans.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Sips Stats

  • 18,427 sips to date

Old wine

