can you die of food poisoning from old wine?

Once again a bottle of wine has surprised me a week after opening it.

I bought the Jackson Triggs 2012 Sauvignon Blanc for our wine night in June. It was kinda crappy. So much so that it wasn’t finished by the eight or so guests that came to the wine night in June.

Then we went away for ten days and this bottle sat in the fridge. Or on the counter. I don’t remember. But I had a glass last night and I must say that it is much better than I remembered from the wine night.

I always buy a bottle and open it specifically for the wine tasting. So it is fresh corked when we meet and we review it as such.

This one did quite poorly and wasn’t a favorite for anyone in the crowd that night. I would have said it wasn’t worth purchasing again. But after sitting for over a week it is much more drinkable. Maybe not ‘buy-another-bottle’ worthy but it doesn’t suck. And for a Jackson Triggs that’s saying something. For me at least.

The same thing happened to me Cat’s Pee on a Gooseberry Bush that I hated so much. It was much, much better three days after the first glass. I am sensing a pattern here….

So I have to wonder if I can get food poisoning from letting bad wine sit out so it relaxes into better wine…

If this turns out to be my last post you’ll know the answer.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Don
    Jul 10, 2013 @ 10:45:06

    A good thing wine has alcohol. Old wine is safer to drink than tap water!

    Like

    Reply

  2. anonymiceagency
    Jul 12, 2013 @ 14:32:26

    If you get a really crappy wine you can always turn it into amazing vinegar :)! Let it breath, toss in a bit of water and a dash of ‘live’ vinegar from nature’s fare and in a month or so…. Presto! Amazing wine vinegar

    Like

    Reply

  3. sipsinthecity
    Jul 12, 2013 @ 18:17:32

    nice! I’ll have to try that. Sounds like my family is getting vinegar for Christmas! Surprise!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Sips Stats

  • 18,602 sips to date

Old wine

