monday q & a – body talk

Q: So what is the difference between body and flavour? Julie

A: I am sure there are lots of very scientific answers about body in wine. I don’t know any of them. Remember: I drink wine because I like it. And I rate wine and describe wine and talk about wine in terms of what I notice and like. So you are going to get the unscientific answer here. It’s more of the Saturday-night-philosophy kind of answer!

The best way I can describe the difference is that flavour is about taste – sweet, tart, fruity or earthy and body is about feel – weight or texture. It’s like fruit juice with pulp vs. Koolaid.  Both can have a lot of flavour but only one has a chance of dominating in a smackdown! Body is a good thing in wine. People refer to sines as being full bodied, medium bodied or light bodied. It has nothing to do with price… so more expensive wines may not have more body. Not everyone likes full bodied wine so more body isn’t always better. It’s up to you to decide what you like. Enjoy!!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Wandering Gourmand
    Jul 15, 2013 @ 11:29:52

    I have read that body has to do with mouthfeel. If the wine feels heavier on the toungue, then its has more body. I learned this from Wine for Dummies.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Jocellyn
    Jul 19, 2013 @ 04:17:24

    Ah, this makes sense. When I had sushi the other night I had a very “flat” red wine. I think someone would say it wasn’t “complex”?

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Sips Stats

  • 19,125 sips to date

Old wine

