review – heaven’s gate malbec

Name of the Wine: Heaven’s Gate Winery Malbec

Country of Origin: Canada (BC)

Year: 2010

Price: over $20 (pricey!!)

Rating: 3

What made this wine fit our theme for the night: We didn’t use this for a wine night – we hung out and drank it casually!

Comments: hhmmm….my first thought upon trying this wine was PEPPERY! No real fruit flavor and it’s light bodied and has a weak finish. The label sounds like this is an elixir of the Gods. You can pair it with ANYTHING! Any time a wine boasts that kind of claim I get  a little leary. Caroline and I both gave this a 3. She would buy it again… I would not. Especially for that price. I didn’t taste the caramel or the sweet cherry but maybe the plum. It actually uses the word residual in the description. Residual is not a word that says ‘Yum’ to me but it is an apt adjective to describe what’s left after you swallow this stuff. Maybe it would be better wit a heavy meal? I should mention that I tried it after it had been open for two days as well…. So kinda decanted you might say!

Would I buy this wine again? No… but if you are interested in it you can find it at Starter’s in Westyde!

Leave a Reply

Sips Stats

  • 18,110 sips to date

Old wine

