happy california wine month

In honour of celebrating California wines this month I am going to tell you about my favorite go-to Cali vino that I buy when all else fails and I am not looking to blow my mind… just wet my lips.

280644_0

 

The Carlo Rossi Red is an easy drinking wine that goes with everything. And it’s cheap. Cheap enough to feed to a crowd!! And we often have a crowd!

I’ll be honest – I haven’t tried the white even once.

A friend and I were just talking about red people versus white people. That sounds bad…. but it’s a winey thing. When I started drinking wine I really did prefer white. Most of the reds I had were either damn near a wine cooler (Have you ever had Island Mist??) or suck your face off dry. Not a great introduction to red wine. So, I naturally gravitated to the whites!

As I felt my way around the wine world and started to spend a little more moola and understand how to read a damn label I started to discover red wines that I could actually enjoy. And this was one of them!! If you are new to wine I highly recommend you give this a go! As I got to drinking more wines, trying more wines and pairing them correctly with food I grew out of this table wine and on to more complex things.  On the whole, though, I was a red wine person. Always choosing it over a white

Now, as our weather stays insanely hot and we hang out poolside most days, I am back on the whites. I don’t have a go-to white. And I think as the weather cools and our menu changes I’ll probably get back to my reds… we’ll see.

Whether you sip whites or swirl reds, do it California style!! At least this month!

Cheers!!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tee
    Sep 11, 2013 @ 21:35:43

    What is your go to white wine…perferrably a pino grigo ?

    Like

    Reply

  2. Tee
    Sep 11, 2013 @ 21:37:38

    Oh sorry see you don’t have a go to white…. Keep me posted on that one

    Like

    Reply

  3. sipsinthecity
    Sep 11, 2013 @ 21:51:51

    I will… it’s hard work – sifting through all this wine. Sigh… but I suppose it must be done!!

    Like

    Reply

  4. Jocellyn
    Sep 14, 2013 @ 08:24:56

    Carlos is the only way to make sangria! I’m a red drinker, but I do like a good Riesling.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Sips Stats

  • 18,612 sips to date

Old wine

