did wine get too cool for the cool kids?

A taste for wine was the newest thing with the young, hip crowd for a while.

It was like hipster cool.

And I wonder if all of us soccer Mom’s and middle aged couples have given it a bit of a bitter taste.

I remember when it was really unpopular around here (here being BC) to dismiss the wine culture, the wine craze, the wine industry.

You were in the know if you knew about wine.

Then it seemed like if you knew too much it was uncool. You were trying too hard. The cool ’20 somethings’ just drank it. They knew what wineries put out good wine. \they didn’t know why. They just liked it. Analyzing it was out of style.

So, I wonder, what’s next?

Craft beer? Old world wine? Brandy?

Maybe I am seeing things…. but it seems to me that the cool kids have moved on. And, like the 80’s, the rest of us will be left with our leg warmers and feathered bangs and no place to go….

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. the winegetter
    Sep 12, 2013 @ 18:41:06

    Nah, but the wine will always be there. Let the hipsters move on…I for one don’t mind that at all….:) And what’s wrong with old world wine???

    Like

    Reply

  2. sipsinthecity
    Sep 12, 2013 @ 20:56:53

    I cut my teeth on the new world stuff!!

    Like

    Reply

  3. Jocellyn
    Sep 14, 2013 @ 08:22:56

    Whiskey likely. In Vermont its beer (I don’t like beer but we have Heady Topper which is the worlds best rated, or something) and then Whiskey (we have Whistle Pig which I also think is a super rated brand). Wine is starting to come up but I think the other 2 or more prevalent :-\

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Sips Stats

  • 19,125 sips to date

Old wine

