q and a – $1000 splurge

As my wine rack thins out and I am thinking we are in need of a little stocking up I sat and pondered the age old question today…. am I cheap?

Well, maybe I am not cheap… just thrifty. It’s born in me. If it has a sale tag I can’t help but look twice. In fact, I think I may have some built in radar that finds things on sale. And I hate, hate, hate buying things at full price. My Grandma was like a sale terrorist in Zellers back in her day so I am sure that is where it comes from.

Back to the wine rack….

So I got to thinking, given $1000 to spend in a liquor store how would I spend it? Would I try to buy as much as possible? Buy some thrifty and some splurgey wines (I know splurgey is not a word, btw, as my autocorrect and I just fought several times to keep it that way).

I came to the conclusion that I err on the side of thrift. I’d like bang for my buck. But I wouldn’t load up on babyduck. I would love to splurge. But to me that is around the $30 mark. The rest would be $15-$20 wines. But I would like to be scoring a deal there too. And how do you do that?

You find a wine that tastes like it costs twice as much, that’s how! The National Post is going to start a column on good value wines. They started with a list here http://life.nationalpost.com/2013/10/04/welcome-to-best-buys-in-b-c/ and you can google lots of top 10 lists. Or you can go through our wine list. It will all depend on your tastes. Once you find a critic you can agree with more often than not keep checking back with them. The National Post list seems to contain a lot of Spanish wines. I haven’t had much luck with Spanish wine but I am willing to give it a try.

This guy reviews wines every day and seems like my kind of wine snob http://www.reversewinesnob.com/ but he is in the US and his price points are way off from here – spoiler alert!

Regardless of how you find your wine my question to you is…

$1000… splurge or spend thriftily?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jocellyn
    Oct 26, 2013 @ 12:33:52

    I’d probably make a color gradient of wines with that much money to spend 😉

    Like

    Reply

  2. sipsinthecity
    Oct 30, 2013 @ 15:41:07

    nice! I suspect that would be what I would do too. Shooting for half ‘stock up’ wines and half ‘treats’!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Sips Stats

  • 18,612 sips to date

Old wine

