how to screw up thanksgiving wine

Happy Thanksgiving to all the Canadians out there!

We had two turkey dinners this weekend. Woot, woot!

I made dinner on Saturday night with an SPCA certified turkey (goodbye $43) so I was able to indulge in the whole thing. Usually I get potatoes and coleslaw. Most vegetarians aren’t real big turkey eaters after all!! But I will eat SPCA certified meat so I was excited to get the full experience this year. From the bird to the wine. But I totally screwed it up.

I will need to make an admission here that pegs me as a cheapo. I had actually bought two bottles of wine to have with dinner but didn’t open them. I used left over wine at dinner. I know.. shame, shame, shame…. it sucked.

We had a little mini wine night on Friday and none of the wine was great (reviews will follow) so I had about half a bottle of each wine sitting here still on Saturday afternoon. So it seemed silly to crack two more. But so-so wine can not be saved by a $43 turkey. And that bird worked its ass off to save that wine.

The only thing our left over pinot gris, cab sav and shiraz brought to the table was a very awesome cranberry sauce (I’ll post that recipe later as well) and a buzz.

Next time I’ll be researching and picking a wine specifically to go with turkey and roasted vegetables.

Now, there weren’t any complaints about the wine. And it was well received with the brie-stuffed mushrooms…. but even I knew that our vino missed the mark.

Next year… I vow to do better!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Kim Hurren
    Oct 15, 2013 @ 06:52:37

    We had a reasonably respectable pinot noir from Stoneboat. Slightly under $25 and it went well with the bird

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Sips Stats

  • 18,620 sips to date

Old wine

