review – naked grape pinot grigio

I used to hate this wine. A lot.

By the way… A lot is two words. My daughter is really stuck on this as every kid in her class got this wrong on their spelling test last week and I have heard all about it. A lot.

Anyways… When I started drinking wine the Naked Grape wines were great. They were easy, bright and not oaked. Not oaked is a big deal when you are starting out with wine. Oak is a taste you need to ease into. Like blue cheese.

After a few years I got way too big for these wines (and maybe a bit too big for my own good). I was above them… I thought. “Way too knowing to drink that kiddy crap”, I said to myself.

But I am back. I am generally a nice person. And reviewing wines for an audience that sometimes has included the people invested in making said wines has been pretty humbling. So I have slowed down and started to look for what I like in every wine I drink.

So I reflected until I found the good in this bottle. I have to reflect a long, long while sometimes but I can find the good in everything I try.

The good in this bottle of vino is it’s simplicity. It’s fresh, bright and quick. It’s fruity without being tart and would be good to serve with any light dish. We had it with fish and coleslaw. Check.

It is pretty one dimensional. There is really no finish, no distinguishing flavour that can be drawn out… but that’s ok. If you are looking for a cheap, easy white this is it!

So to sum it up.. Not a high priced call girl, but a decent hooker none the less!

Go ahead and give it a go!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jocellyn
    Oct 26, 2013 @ 12:45:29

    Good review. I’ve been working on finding simple, $5-$7 wines that are easy to find every where and aren’t horrible, because spending $10 a bottle, fresh out of college, is a bit unsustainable đŸ˜‰ I’ve never tried Naked, but I’ll give it a shot!

    Like

    Reply

    • sipsinthecity
      Nov 03, 2013 @ 21:19:57

      ahh, to live in the land of far less tax. The only wine you can buy here for $5 a bottle is nail polish remover!

      Like

      Reply

      • Jocellyn
        Nov 04, 2013 @ 15:28:34

        Oh yes I forgot! I shant flaunt my ability to buy cheap wine. I remember going to Montreal and buying a $5 bottle of wine. BIG, BIG MISTAKE. I didn’t even drink one glass. You guys do have much better poutine though.

        Like

Leave a Reply

Sips Stats

  • 18,427 sips to date

Old wine

