Introducing a new blogger!

Image

 

Hello, readers! I’d like to take this opportunity to introduce myself, because Bonnie has done me the great honour of inviting me to do some posts for Sips in the City.

My name is Lindsay, and I’m part of Bonnie’s wine club — I’m the notoriously cheap one! I often bring the least expensive bottle to our tasting parties, and I consider a $20 bottle of wine to be a huge splurge. I’m happier to spend between $10 and $14, so I am always trying the less expensive ones to try to find a few “go to” wines. I’ll be doing some reviews of the ones I try in my quest to find something affordable that tastes good. In my opinion on both counts, of course!

I know next to nothing about wine, other than what I like and what I don’t even want to swallow. I firmly believe that life is too short to drink wine you can’t stand, and I practice what I preach. At our wine tastings, there are some that I taste and toss down the drain. But I always try every wine, because you never know what will strike your fancy and your palate.

My taste is quite different from Bonnie’s, so hopefully I can provide another perspective. I prefer white wine to red, sweet to dry, and unoaked to oaked. I honestly haven’t yet found a red wine that I would buy again, but I keep tasting them. That’s one of the best things about having a wine club or regular wine tasting parties – you get to try out a few swallows of all different sorts of wines, which, if you’re cheap like me, you’ll never try if you have to buy the whole bottle.

My knowledge level is different, too. I’ve learned a bit along the way, but I haven’t gone out of my way to get an education. That’s changing, by the way. Now that I’m going to be writing about it, I figure I should know something about it. So I’ve decided that I want to become a more critical wine taster. That’s not to say that I want to be harsh on wine; rather, that I want to be thoughtful and analytical, learning how to differentiate wines from one another and analyze their elements.

Until now, I’ve been content to be the person who tries a wine, decides whether I like the taste or not, and called it a day. But now, I want to learn about the subtleties, to know how to describe what I taste and sense in a way that other people can understand. I have limited my critique in the past to “I like it” or “I don’t”, but that’s no longer enough for me. I crave the satisfaction of learning about wine and applying that knowledge to the experience.

I have always loved to learn, about anything and everything. Now, it’s past time to learn about wine. I hope you’ll join me on my journey!  

Leave a Reply

Sips Stats

  • 18,108 sips to date

Old wine

