review – gazela vinho verde

This is going to be like ‘A Tale of Two Cities’ or ‘Romeo and Juliet’ or ‘Thelma and Louise’ or…. well, you get the picture.

I am going to review a wine tonight and Lindsay will post a review of the same wine tomorrow. Like she said in her post yesterday – we have very different taste in wine. So, it will be interesting to see how it all shakes down!

On to the wine!

This wine was given to me by a friend to try because she loves it. She buys it three or four bottles at a time because it goes with everything. And it’s cheap! Like, $10 cheap. How I never saw it before I don’t know. You can buy it at the Government Liquor Store and it’s easy to find. That is if you know where to look.

original-2213-1128-gazela

My confession as a lazy wine person is that I rarely take the time to explore the parts of the liquor store that don’t appeal to me. And the shelves under the Portuguese flag do not appeal to me. The only thing I have ever really bought from Portugal is port. And it wasn’t very great. And it was at our very first wine club night ever. I’ve never really headed back to the Portugal section since. So this wine has eluded me…

It’s nice. Slightly effervescent, off-dry and medium bodied. It’s a white blend… and that’s all you’re getting off this label. It gives nothing up on the back of the bottle. My friend, Lynn, and her husband serve it with everything. I think you’d be hard pressed to have this with dinner. It’s a very light, crisp wine. Great for cheese, salad, on it’s own or maybe with some light fish. Chips and salsa? Si! Steak and potato? No way, Jose! Why Spanish? I know no Portuguese!

I tried this wine two ways. First I had it wicked chilled. It was light and very fizzy. A bit sweeter and it didn’t have any really distinct flavour I could pick out. Next I tried it only slightly cooled. It was much more appley (sorry, Webster) and felt more full bodied.

All-in-all, this wine is a win!! Now, my bet is that Lindsay will love it. We’ll see tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

Sips Stats

  • 18,411 sips to date

Old wine

