on being a total wine slut and a few baseball analogies

I am not a baseball fan… but I know what ‘batting 1000’ means. I wish I knew enough to know what the opposite of that was. Batting zero? Is that a thing? Because if it is I am dominating the field in batting zero on wine choices.

I am a wine slut. I drink around… I am not monogamous. Oh, I have a few ports I visit more than once but on the whole I am looking for one night stands with my wine. This means that I usually buy a different wine each time I pop into the liquor store. And lately, I am ending my evenings disappointed and alone.

I haven’t picked a good wine in two months. With one exception – the Oh La La Pinot Grigio which we both loved.

I have no idea what’s wrong with me. I am buying in my usual price range, kind of. I usually buy in the $12 price range but admit I have bought a few ‘sale bottles’ as well. I am buying from my ‘go-to’ countries, Chile, Canada, France, Australia, New Zealand, US. I am drinking them the same way with the same foods. I haven’t had any weird sicknesses. I just have had no luck with finding a wine I love, or even, like, enough to buy again any time soon.

What is your go-to wine?? Where am I going wrong? I feel like that twenty-something girl that wakes up in the bathroom of a friend’s house on a Sunday morning beside some guy she doesn’t know. She decides she just can’t keep doing this. She needs to clean up her act and get her life straight. She knows her Mom would be so disappointed if she could see her like this. Wine is letting me down right now… sigh.

I need to start hanging out with better wines. These ones are bringing me down…

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kim Hurren
    Mar 19, 2014 @ 06:47:30

    We have been experimenting with a lot of Spanish wines lately. We have purchased several bottles of “Laya” @ $13.99 and think it is one of the more enjoyable value wines we have found in a long time.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Sips Stats

  • 18,427 sips to date

Old wine

