wine of the week – when does finish become after taste??

Since I am admitting to myself that I may not be consistent with exactly which day of the week I’ll get to sampling a new wine, I’ve decided that we’ll have a wine of the week instead of Friday wines!

Unfortunately, my inaugural choice was a total bust. Ever had this?

365940I bought it on sale for $9.99 at the BC Liquor Store. Annndd.. I wasted my money. This is bad, bad wine. Normally, I try not to be really harsh in my reviews but I am dead positive no one from Chile is going to read this so I will be honest with you and tell you to never buy this wine. If you are intermediate wine drinker you will think this is turpentine. If you are a beginner wine drinker you will switch to beer.

Best thing about it? It didn’t suck as badly when it was colder. Worst thing? A weird chemical-fume feeling in your mouth after you drank it. And that’s pretty bad.

Honestly, if you are just starting out drinking wine I can assure you that this is everything that is wrong about wine. It is harsh, one-dimensional, chemically. You can’t taste anything really. This is like hooch. It gets the job done. There is no finesse involved.  Good wine is complex, smooth, has a rhythm… There is a beginning, complex middle and end. It makes you smile. The Frontera 2014 Pinot Grigio is none of these things.

Unfortunately, many new wine drinkers end up with a wine like this to start. It’s inexpensive, looks approachable and trendy and is widely available. And Pinot Grigio is widely known, even if you don’t know what it means. And I’m afraid that many of the people that try this as their first wine will never return to our club!

In summary. buy a different wine. That is all.

Leave a Reply

Sips Stats

  • 18,612 sips to date

Old wine

