review – haywire 2013 pinot noir

Reviews are back!! Yay!

You all clearly love reviews since you keep coming back to them again and again. I promise to start doing them more regularly.

This week’s wine is a BC wine from one of my favourite wineries. And it’s a red. One of my two favourite colours of wine!

Haywire is from the Okanagan and they pride themselves on making distinct, proud, clean and clear BC based wine that showcases the great things our landscape and climate can do for the modest grape.

These wine lovers are not trying to bring you a local wine that compares to the wine you’ve been drinking from France, or Germany for a similar price, or for cheaper from South Africa. They want you to think of nothing but the beautiful rolling hills of the Okanagan while you sip.

Last year, I bought a case of their gamay blend, called Narrative Red. I bought it without ever tasting it based on trying a sample straight out of the barrel in February. It was a good bet and I have tucked away one last bottle for I don’t know what.

This year, after dining once again with the fellows from Haywire and the Okanagan Crush Pad who hosted the Assemblage Workshop at the Sun Peaks Wine Festival, I walked off with a bottle of the 2013 Pinot Noir wedged into my Barbie Pink purse.

On to the wine… I opened this bottle for dinner on Saturday night. Dinner was so so. The wine was less so.

God, how I wanted to love this wine.

I love the winery, I love the region, I love the guys who make this wine and I love the passion they make it with. But, this pinot noir is a runt of a wine.

It’s ok. It not too sweet. But man oh man, it could be so much more. If you know my style of descriptive language you’ll get it all in this one sentence. It’s fast, light, lacks power and needs character.

What does that mean? If you have tried more than 20 wines that you like, you will not add this to your ‘buy again’ list.

This is a young drinker’s wine. Since I didn’t buy this bottle I am not sure of the price but I would like to get more out a bottle than this one gave me. As usual, I left the wine out, open, on the counter for a few days and tried it again. This is a sure way to get more oxygen, which brings more flavour and body to your wine, or to get salmonella.

I got neither this time. (kind of a win, at least)

It didn’t really fill out. It still has little body, No spice, no deep, juicy, fruity, meaty flavour that stands up to dinner. I want my wine to be full and outlandish enough that I HAVE to sip it. Especially if it costs more than $15 a bottle.

So, when to buy this wine? I’d buy it for a new wine drinker. It’s not going to offend anyone. It could be served easily to a young crowd with chicken sliders with avocado. It’s not going to stand on it’s own. Asian fare, cheese and crackers, finger food. Buying a white too? Make sure it is not oaked. This bottle will not compete with that kind of body.

It is what they say they are looking for. Clean, fresh, light. But it doesn’t do justice to the great growing conditions we have here. I’ve tasted some great Haywire and Crush Pad wines. Save your money for those.

*a note on aging BC wine… Don’t. In my experience, these wines are not enhanced by letting the dust settle on them. Just drink them. If you like them, buy another bottle and drink it too. Don’t leave them in your laundry room closet to get awesome.

Short story – This is a great BC Winery. Try their other wines. This one doesn’t do them justice. Find out more here haywire wines.

bub-1440x565

 

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sabina ramage
    Feb 22, 2016 @ 22:17:55

    maybe this one?

    https://sipsinthecity.wordpress.com/author/sipsinthecity/

    On Mon, Feb 22, 2016 at 7:56 PM, sips in the city wrote:

    > sipsinthecity posted: “Reviews are back!! Yay! You all clearly love > reviews since you keep coming back to them again and again. I promise to > start doing them more regularly. This week’s wine is a BC wine from one of > my favourite wineries. And it’s a red. One of my two favouri” >

    Like

    Reply

  2. Lynn Vicars
    Feb 23, 2016 @ 06:52:43

    Hi Bonnie

    I love the review and visualized the whole thing…especially your Barbie pink purse! I had to retread one line a few times. Missing one word…of. Hope you don’t mind me spotting it!

    “…but I would like to get more out OF a bottle.”

    Looking forward to Friday! L

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Sips Stats

  • 18,107 sips to date

Old wine

