it’s wine festival time!

It’s time to get our wine festival on here in Kamloops!

I love wine festival time but nine years in, I am starting to lose the excitement I once had for the big, huge, giant Consumer Wine Night that is now the culmination of a week of wine celebrations.

If you are new to wine or are a ‘fair-weather taster’ (meaning you are not passionate about finding and chatting about wine), the Consumer tasting is probably a great night out.

You basically get handed a glass and told to sample away until you choose to call it a night or you get carted off… that’s happened. Not to me, but, you know, to a friend.

That’s great, and I would love to go. But, it has it’s limitations.

The first is that there are over 500 people also sampling wine. That means your time with the agent or winemaker is limited to making eye contact and saying thank you for the most part. Also, it’s really hard to take notes or get any in depth information on a wine you find intriguing or outstanding, or to even find out more about the winery!

The second is that it is a popular event. Like, really popular. And that’s great for the Art Gallery but makes for a fast-paced, crowded night for wine enthusiasts like me.

This year, I went for a wine dinner instead! The Gallery has expanded it’s events over the last few years and you can attend one (or a few) of all sorts of wine evenings around town in May.

I gathered a few ladies and attended the opening dinner at the Fireside Steakhouse and Bar.

20160504_184735.jpg

It was fantastic! Great food, the agent was there for the winery, we learned about the wines, why they were chosen and the stories behind them. We laughed and sipped and relaxed and had a ball. I got to visit with my friends and could hear every word they said!

We were treated to 4 wines from CC Jentsch Cellars. I actually only really cared for the first of the four we tried, The Quest, but it didn’t matter. I’ll try lots of wines this year. What counts is I had a great time and I learned a little and I would do it again!

Haven’t bought any tickets for a wine event yet? I recommend the Tapas at Earls on Tuesday or the Tour De France at Brownstone the same night!

I think either will be the hit of the week! If you are headed to the Consumer Tasting on Saturday I am sure you will enjoy that too. Really, there are no bad wine tastings!

 

 

Leave a Reply

Sips Stats

  • 19,125 sips to date

Old wine

