making homemade malbec ice cream

We did it! Here is our first crack at home made ice cream…

071

It really does taste like wine. We need to fine tune the recipe as it isn’t as firm as it should be. It’s chillin’ out in the freezer right now to see if it firms up some more. We may have to make adjustments due to the alcohol content. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated! Here is what we did…

First we gathered our ingredients. We already have a Cuisnart Soft Serve Ice Cream Machine. I bought it many years ago at Costco and we love it. I modified the vanilla ice cream recipe to make this Malbec one.

060

We used 1 cup of Chilean Malbec wine. I used U-Brew wine because it is cheap and this was an experiment. I am excited to get the formula right then try other flavors. I added 3/4 cup of sugar and blended them with a whisk until the sugar dissolved. Then I slowly whisked in 2 cups of heavy cream.

061

I turned on the machine (you prechill the bowl) and poured the goop in. That is it… I let it churn for about 40 minutes then transfered the whole thing to the freezer as it wasn’t all the way firm – even for soft serve.

068

It would be great with some chocolate port over top! I’ll keep trying out new things. I would really love suggestions on how to make it firmer if you have some ideas! Happy eating!

069

5 thoughts on “making homemade malbec ice cream

  1. Oh my…this looks delicious! What a creative use of Malbec. The only reason I can think of as to why it wasn’t very firm is that alcohol has a higher freezing point, but who knows. My ice cream maker is not a soft-serve model, so if I do find a recipe I can adapt and add wine to it, I’ll let you know if the end product is more firm. Cheers/salud!

    Like

  2. It was pretty delicious! I’ll be trying this again and a white one as well. I am thinking I’ll add chocolate shavings in this and pistachio pieces in the other… we’ll see. It will be fun to experiment!

    Like

Leave a comment